Changes at East Lindsey District Council

EAST Lindsey District Councillors have made appointments to committees at their Annual General Meeting at Manby.

The meeting also saw Coun Doreen Stephenson re-elected as Leader of the Council and Coun Steve Newton as her Deputy.

Coun Dick Edginton was elected as Chairman of the Council for the next year with Coun Stan Avison as his Vice-Chairman.

The Executive Board, which is one of the council’s key decision making committees, has been reduced from 10 councillors to eight, delivering a saving of almost £15,000 per year in special responsibility allowances plus a saving in costs such as travel.

Coun Doreen Stephenson, said of the appointments: “The Council faces many challenges in the coming years both operationally and financially. With reduced national funding going forward we need to find new and innovative ways to provide our services and eradicate unnecessary spending.

I am confident that those selected to represent the Council on the Executive Board will rise to this challenge.”