Louth Town Council chooses deputy mayor for 2017/18

Councillor George Horton.
Councillor George Horton.

Louth Town Councillors have voted for their deputy mayor-elect for 2017, who will subsequently become the Mayor of Louth in May next year.

Councillor George Horton was the ‘clear winner’ following a secret ballot of councillors at the town council meeting yesterday evening (Tuesday), defeating fellow candidates Coun David Wing and Coun Chris Green.

Coun Horton will become the new deputy mayor at the Annual Town Council Meeting on May 16, subject to a formal election on the day.

The current deputy mayor, Councillor Pauline Watson, will take over the role of Mayor of Louth from Councillor Eileen Ballard on the same day.

This is because, conventionally, the deputy mayor spends one year in the role before being elevated to the Mayor of Louth for the following year.

At last night’s meeting, Coun Horton was proposed by Coun Lesley Harrison-Wiseman and seconded by Coun Julie Speed.

Coun Wing put himself forward for the role (seconded by Coun Andrew Leonard) and Coun Fran Treanor nominated Coun Green (seconded by Coun Margaret Ottaway).