Mablethorpe’s quiz league awards night

Double winners Andrewheelers.
Double winners Andrewheelers.

Members of the Mablethorpe and District Quiz League were rewarded recently at their annual presentation awards evening.

The Ariel League is played each year and this year seven teams took part, The Andrewheelers, Sutton Mountain Rescue, Con Merchants, Dunes Dinosaurs, Crown Jewels, Carousel Crusaders and Turks Head Dibblers.

The Con Merchants.

The Con Merchants.

The Andrewheelers were this year’s league winners with a final league score of 592, which consisted of team members Ken Darling, Keith Allton, Christine Allton and Ron Laws.

In a close second place was Sutton Mountain Rescue with 562 with the team of; Gemma Leak, Andrew Whetton, Margaret Joiner and Patti Marson.

Then in third place with 553 points was the Con Merchants which consists of; Bill and Margaret Simpson and Glyn Jones.

A special cup game is also played once a year,

The Turk's Head Dibblers.

The Turk's Head Dibblers.

The Robert Watson Cup, and The Andrewheelers have double the reason to celebrate after winning this cup as 
well as being the league winners with a total cup score of 238.

In second place were The Dunes Dinosaurs and included in that team is June Howard, Rita Copley, Tony Howard and Martin Carmichael with 222 and in third was Sutton Mountain Rescue with 216 points.

The Turks Head Dibblers, which consists of Mick Scott, Jan Spirggs, Jim Colley and John Spriggs also deserve a mention for winning the Seward Trophy outright during the presentation evening, with no second or third places awarded.

This Seward Trophy is a special one-off match which is played during the presentation evening and is a great way to finish off the season on a high.

The teams have had a fantastic year of play, with lots of fun in tow.

Look out in the Leader next season, where the teams will be back battling it out for the winning accolade.