OBITUARY: Frank Ignatius Meechan

The funeral service for Frank Meechan of George Street, Louth took place at Alford Crematorium on Friday June 13th. Funeral arrangements were by the Lincolnshire Co-op’s Louth branch and the service was led by Funeral Celebrant, Mike Kinnaird.

Although originally from Edinburgh and born July 31st 1939, he made his home in Louth and came to be an integral part of its musical and historical culture. Many first met Frank at the Tax Office where he was an inspector. He met his future wife, Joan, when they were teenagers and both worked in the Tax Office in Hexham. The posting to Louth for the sports-fan Frank, was a huge turning point in his life and for that of his family. A lifelong-singer, Frank became a founding member of the Louth Male Voice Choir and earned considerable respect both as choir librarian and leader of the tenor section. He passed his extraordinary knowledge and understanding of history on for the enjoyment of countless people over the years. His impact was considerable and the loss is great. Grateful thanks go to the Stroke Unit at Lincoln County Hospital for its wonderful care.

In Frank’s memory the sum £475.50 was collected for Lincoln Hospital Stroke Unit and £400.50 for Macmillan Cancer Support.

Frank leaves a widow, Joan and daughter, Jane.

Family mourners were: Joan Meechan (wife); Mrs Jane & Mr Simon Hallion (daughter and son-in-law); Polly & Harry Hallion (grandchildren); Mrs P & Mr G Westwater (niece & husband); Murray & Stuart Westwater (grand nephews); Paul Meechan (nephew); Mrs Morag Meechan (sister in law); Mr & Mrs Marjorie and Thomas Anderson (niece and husband); Hazel Hallion.

Other mourners were:

Mr Brian Wood (also rep Chris Wood); Mr & Mrs Alan and Carole Blundell (also rep Mr Paul Blundell, Foxon and Mr & Mrs Moncaster; Mrs Nicola McEnery; Mrs Jean Brown (also rep Janet and Richard Ablott); Mr & Mrs David and Marlene Hardy; Mr Allan Dunning; Mr & Mrs Hugh and Shirley Poths (also rep Janet McKee and Barry McTernan); Mr Charles Jude; Mr & Mrs Martine and Sean Scott (also rep Mr & Mrs Raybould, Mr & Mrs Brigg and Karen Morris); Dr Mowat (also rep James St Family Practice); Mr & Mrs Russell and Jean Howard; Mr Patrick Neville; Mrs Elizabeth Campbell-Peat (also rep Debbie Phillips, Teresa Weir and Greg Mason-Smith); Mrs Gabriella Shaw; Mr Stephen Kirby (also rep Kathryn Heywood); Jill Makinson-Sanders; Mrs Yvonne Bexon (also rep Gary Bexon); Mr & Mrs Sally and Stephen Bexon; Mr & Mrs Malcolm and Pat Neal (also rep David and Cherrilyn Neal and Mary and Robert Haynes); Mr & Mrs Avril and David Morris (also rep Anne and Malcolm McClean); Mrs Twink Addison; Miss Rachael Nicholson; Ms Tina Hastie; Ms Briony McNeilly; Mr & Mrs Roland and Janet Bell; Mrs Deborah Laking; Mr & Mrs Jane and Don MacPherson; Mr Barry Widdop; Mr Richard O’Brien; Mr David Bryant; Mr Gus Robertson (also rep Tuff, Angela and Sally); Mr Frank Parsons; Mr Chris Winfield and Mrs Jean Stephenson (also rep Mr & Mrs George and Marlene Reed); Mr & Mrs Carol and David Fowlston (also rep Lisa Hammond); Mr David William and Tricia William; Mr & Mrs Dominic and Jane Crisp; Mrs Catherine Kerrigan; Mr Graham Burrell; Mr & Mrs Pat and Heather Patterson; Mrs Betty Smith; Mr Roy Barber; Miss Gemma Reeson (also rep James St. Family Practice); Mr & Mrs Anne and Anthony Horne (also rep Dr Drake and Mr & Mrs McFarland); Mr & Mrs Alan and Judith John; Mrs Cynthia Sellick; Mr Tony Horne (also rep Liz and Paddy McFarland, Carol and Martyn Drake and Val and John Creighton); Mr John Hards; Mr & Mrs Jean and Noel Clark (also rep the Clark family); Mr & Mrs Richard and Judith Nicholson; Mrs Peggy Poucher; Mr & Mrs Jacqui and David Larder; Mr & Mrs Gill and Edward Lawson (also rep Alan and Jean Dobson); Mr & Mrs Jenny and Brian Murray; Mr John Kennedy; Mrs Mel Drewery (Citizen’s Advice); Mr & Mrs John and Joan Riggall (also rep Sed and Vera Blackbourne); Mr Andrew Smith; Mrs Louise Scott (also rep Graham Scott and Simon Rance); Mr Vickers; Mr Roger Cullum; Mr & Mrs D Smith (also rep Mr & Mrs G Spencer and family); Mr & Mrs Neil Freeland (also rep Cameron and Bruce); Mr & Mrs Pat and Jim Hancock; Mr James Pocklington; Mrs Sarah Doe; Mr Anthony Morrell (also rep Mrs Ann Morrell); Mr & Mrs Pat and Mike Graves (also rep Rebecca and Ian Garside); Mr & Mrs Edward and Mary Nicholson; Mr & Mrs Jean and Michael Kerrigan; Mr & Mrs Alan and Pam Paterson; Mr Duncan Robson; Mr Eric Burton, vice chairman Louth MVC ( also rep Richard Keeble chairman Louth MVC); Mr & Mrs Ray and Maureen Smith; Mr & Mrs Castledine; Mr Tim Elliott, Louth MVC; Mr & Mrs Anne and Gwyn Law, Louth MVC; Mrs Mary Oxley; Mrs Maureen Robinson (also rep Mr & Mrs Michael Harrison); Mr & Mrs Roger and Penny Staniforth; Mr David Edwards; Mr & Mrs Jane and Kevin Lyons; Mrs Amanda Barton; Mrs Jenny George-Jones; Mr Neil Hill; Mr Michael Wildin; Mr & Mrs Russ Harrison; Mr & Mrs Ned and Barbara Pickerill; Mr Tony Neale; Mrs Nicky Duncumb (also rep Jim Duncumb); Mr & Mrs David and Ruby Montgomery; Mr & Mrs Neville and Glenys Tipper (also rep Mr & Mrs Trevor Jones); Mr W Toyne; Mr Philip Espin; Mr Bob Etty; Mrs Florence Firth (also rep Paul Firth); Mr Malcolm Kerridge Louth MVC