Boundary Commission wants your help to redraw electoral map in Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire County Council.
Lincolnshire County Council.

People in Lincolnshire are being asked to help redraw the electoral divisions in the county.

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is drawing up a new pattern of divisions for Lincolnshire County Council and says it is minded to recommend that the council should have 71 county councillors in future, six fewer than now.

The Commission needs information from people and groups across Lincolnshire to help it to produce a new pattern of divisions to accommodate 71 county councillors.

In drawing up new boundaries, the Commission aims to deliver electoral equality for voters in council elections so that each county councillor represents roughly the same number of voters. The review also aims to ensure that the new county divisions reflect, as far as possible, the interests and identities of communities across Lincolnshire.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said: “The starting point of an electoral review is for the Commission to take a view on the number of councillors that should represent the authority in future. On the evidence presented to the Commission, we are minded to recommend that Lincolnshire should continue to have 71 councillors.

“We are now asking local people and organisations to help us draw up new divisions for Lincolnshire. As we develop the recommendations, we will take into account local community identities as well as ensuring electoral equality for voters. Your views will make a difference.

“We will carefully consider all evidence that is provided during this phase of the review whoever it is from and whether it applies to the whole of Lincolnshire or just a small part of the county.

“We will publish all the submissions on our website so that local people can see all the various proposals we receive. Residents will then have a further chance to have their say after we publish our draft recommendations in November.”

People have until July 21, 2015, to submit their views. Further information on the review and interactive maps of the existing divisions can be found at and