Second-half horror show ends cup hopes

Courtney Skeldon.
Courtney Skeldon.

Mablethorpe Athletic bowed out of the Lincolnshire County Cup - losing 11-1 to College Wanderers after what could only be described as the worst second half in memory.

Wanderers - who won the competition two years ago - have already dished out heavy defeats to Market Rasen Town (6-0) and Pointon (8-2), but they booked their place in the quarter-finals with their most emphatic success to date.

Their record speaks volumes and it’s easy to see why they are so successful.

Athletic took the lead as Courtney Skeldon scored an early header from Alex Carter’s free kick, but College 
responded to lead with goals courtesy of Jason Maxwell and Chris McDonald.

Skeldon almost equalised with a free kick that Stephen Cassidy saved onto the right-hand post towards the end of the half.

Mablethorpe had played okay in the first half and were only 2-1 down at half time.

However, they had an absolute nightmare of a second half - conceding nine goals.

Early second half goals by Simon Igoe, Maxwell and Ryan Hibbard gave College a 5-1 lead. McDonald and Hibbard then scored again before Luke Allen and Matthew Welsh got in on the act.

College reached double figures when Jamie Pittam brought down McDonald in the box.

Although Pittam saved the resulting penalty by Maxwell, he fired in the rebound to complete his hat-trick.

In the closing minutes Matthew Welsh bagged his second to add gloss to the final score.

This was a very disappointing way for Mablethorpe to end a good year in which they won a double and were promoted to Division One.

Mablethorpe manager Mick Stubbs said: “We started well and could have been on level terms at half time.

“It was so different in the second half though.

“Their quality players adapted much better on a very wet and slippery pitch, whereas, we just fell apart and couldn’t do anything right.

“The county cup has been an adventure and we now have four weeks off before a busy second half of the season.”

Mablethorpe are not in action until the New Year and their next opponents are to be confirmed.

MABLETHORPE: Pittam, Thomas, Carter, Sirett, Mackay (Turner 81), Brownson, J. Marshall, D. Marshall, Quinn (Williamson 62), Twigg (Billingham 46), Skeldon.