Louth bowls: Seniors crowned champions as winter league issues hot up

Get involved in our bowls coverage
Get involved in our bowls coverage

There are plenty of important games to be played out at Louth Indoor Bowls Club as the winter season draws to a close.

In the Men’s Over 60s League, Seniors retained their title after a seemingly comfortable 25-4 win over second-placed Magnets put them six points clear.

Magnets now face a challenge for the runners-up spot from Imps who are one point behind and have a game in hand.

* Kestrels clinched the Monday Lunchtime title with a steady 17-6 win over third-placed Evergreens who suffered a shots penalty for being a player short.

Second-placed Castaways won a last-gasp decider against Stymies (16-15) to stay one point ahead of Evergreens who hung on to beat Ifs & Buts 14-13 with both contenders for the runners-up spot having one game remaining.

* Webbos were crowned champions of Division Two of the Morning Triples League thanks to a 24-16 victory over Wise Guys.

They then suffered a 13-11 defeat against Scorpions, but are five points ahead of Fledglings with just two game left to play.

Fledglings beat Saints 14-9 to maintain their four-point advantage over Doves who won 12-10 against Scorpions, but Doves have an extra game to catch up on.

* In the Australian Pairs, Derek Woodforth and Pam Thirde secured a vital 13-12 win against second-placed Simon Reeson and Malcolm Wade to clinch the title.

There’s a battle in Division Two where Jeff and Joan Baker reclaimed top spot by one point thanks to a convincing 26-9 win over Roy Tear and Sue Gurbutt.

They replaced Tony Powell and June Brougham who lost 13-5 to third-placed Mike Norton and Anne Burchell who themselves are now two points off the leaders and have two games in hand.

* Tony Nielson and Pam Renshaw secured runners-up spot in Division Two of the Friday Mixed Pairs following a 27-9 victory over Geoff Ford and Maureen Rice.

* The season finishes with the finals of the club knockout competitions over the weekend of April 28 to 30, followed by the trophy presentations on the Sunday evening.