Louth Swimming Club National Arena Swimming League success

Louth Swimming Club hosted the first round of the National Arena Swimming League, East Midlands Division One gala, at the Meridian Pool.

Louth had five wins, six second places and eight thirds and finished in a very creditable fourth place on the night.

The Louth Swimmer of the Night accolade without any doubt went to 11-year-old Emma Harrop who took part in Louth’s first relay win of the evening.

The Girls 9-11 years 4 x 50m Freestyle relay was set under way by Ely Miller in a personal best (Pb) time and she was followed in by Megan Gilpin, then young Paige Kelly, who got the team into fourth position, but were still a good three to four seconds behind the three teams in front at that point.

But enter the pool Emma Harrop, who blasted past the opposition with a strength and determination, that proved unstoppable, bringing the team from fourth to first, in the end winning by an impressive 1.5 seconds.

Emma was also Louth’s only individual winner during the gala, in the Girls 9-11 years 50m Freestyle. This was an altogether closer battle for Emma, winning by just one tenth of a second in the end.

The next relay win went to the Boys 13/u 4 x 50m Medley team of Kieran Young, Tom Harrop, Ivan Koslow and George Hobbins. Kieran Young led off on his favoured Backstroke, gaining a Pb and a County qualifying time (CQT), and got the team into the lead.

He was followed in by Emma’s older brother, Tom, on Breaststroke, who increased the lead to four seconds.

Next in, was Butterfly swimmer Ivan Koslow, increasing the lead even more and the final Freestyle leg was carried out by George Hobbins, who brought home the team with one of the biggest wins of the night, a whopping seven seconds!

The Boys 13/u Freestyle team also had a victory later on in the gala, which was led off by Joshua Wright in a Pb time, also gaining a CQT. He was followed in by Tom Harrop, Kieran Young and George Hobbins, with a winning margin of 3 seconds at the finish.

The boys 15/u Freestyle relay team consisting of Sam Swaby, Daniel Challis, Fin Fox and William McIntyre, were the next Louth team to have a victory. Daniel led off with both a Pb and a CQT and was swiftly followed in by Fin and Sam, but the anchor man William managed to secure a well earned victory of a tiny one tenth of a second over the team from Modernians in the next lane.