Six Mablethorpe runners in New Year race

SIX members of Mablethorpe Running Club took part in the Cleethorpes New Years Day 10K race held in fine conditions although the record number of 421 finishers had to contend with strong winds.

First back for the club was Darren Spencer (vet 40) in 11th place in a very fast time of 37 minutes and 5 seconds, his effort also winning the prize in the over 40 years age group category.

He was followed by Kevin Harrison (vet 55) in 51st position in 40.08 and also winning first prize in his age group.

Janine Stones (vet 40) came in 68th place in a time of 41.06 and won the prize for the 4th lady to finish.

Mick Casey (vet 60) was 83rd in 42.08, followed by Paul Marriott (senior) in 198th place with a time of 48.07.

There was a very good performance on his racing debut from Andy Elsom (vet 50) in 241st position in 50.28.

Selina Elsom (vet 40) made her debut over the cross country when competing in the Lincolnshire League meeting at Riseholme Park and finished 19th in the ladies race over 5300 metres.

The club meets at the Athletic club on Sherwood Fields in Mablethorpe at 6.30pm every Monday and anyone, whatever their ability, is welcome to go along and run.