Louth AC rewards its stars after record-breaking year

No Caption ABCDE EMN-151116-124024002
No Caption ABCDE EMN-151116-124024002

It was a full house at the London Road Pavilion on Friday as Louth Athletic Club celebrated the year’s achievements in road running, track and field and cross-country.

No less than 17 club track and field records were broken in 2015, some having stood for many years. Under 13 athlete Caleb Stephenson set the standard in five events including long jump (4.80m), 200m indoor (30.66secs), 600m indoor (1min 55.42secs), 800m indoor (2min 43.6secs) and indoor long jump (4.16m).

No Caption ABCDE EMN-151116-124013002

No Caption ABCDE EMN-151116-124013002

Other record-breakers were Hannah Reid, Freddie Taylor, Jevon George-Jones, George Johnstone, Natalie Stainton, Karen Moulding, Kerry Stainton, and Jason Stainton.

Seven junior athletes also received highly-prized awards for reaching nationally recognised Amateur Athletic Association standards.

Grade 1 is the highest level an athlete can achieve and indicates their performance is in the top 7.5 per cent in the country. Grade 2 is in the top 15 per cent, grade 3 in the top 30 per cent and grade 4 in the top 65 per cent.

Caleb Stephenson reached grade 1 in long jump, grade 2 in 800m and grade 3 in the 100m and 200m, while grade 3 awards were achieved by George Johnstone (shot), Toby Alexander (high jump) and Evie Odlin (800m).

Grade 4 awards went to Ellie Odlin in the high jump, Hannah Reid (800m), Evie Odlin(100m), and Lucas George-Jones (1,500m).

Prizewinners:– Whitegate Trophy: Jason Stainton. Striacroft Trophy: Lindsey Phillips. Jason Stainton Veterans’ Tankard: Kevin Wallis. Best cross country performance (over-17 lady): Kerry Stainton. Eileen Ballard Cup: Shirley Willett. Tanya Gardener May Lingard Shield: Hannah Reid. Louth AC Trophy for best cross-country performance (u17 boy): Jevon George-Jones. Trophy Centre Shield: Caleb Stephenson. Louth AC Trophy for best track (u17 girl): Evie Odlin. Louth AC Trophy for best track (u20 or senior man): Jason Stainton. Louth AC Trophy for best track (u20 or senior lady): Natalie Stainton. Wyn Stocks Trophy: Evie and Ellie Odlin. Louth AC Trophy for best field (jnr boy): Caleb Stephenson. Louth AC Shield for best field (u20, senior or veteran): Natalie Stainton. Long Distance Cup: Lisa Harkess. 10k Award: Joe Wood and Karen Moulding.

Most improved athlete – u11: Freddie Rhodes; u13 or u15 girl: Freya Plaskitt; u13 or u15 boy: Caleb Stephenson; u17: Robert Johnstone. Sylvester Trophy: Paul Snowden. Louth AC newcomer award: Evie Odlin. Brian Troop Memorial Trophy: George Johnstone. Coaches’ middle-distance trophy: Caleb Stephenson. Coaches’ sprint trophy: George and Robert Johnstone. Endeavour trophy (female); Ellie Odlin. Endeavour trophy (male): Toby Alexander. Pete Geeson Cup: John Hudson. Chairperson’s Shield: Ros Jackson. Jason Stainton Tumbler Award: Pete Crow.

Louth AC cross country championships winners – U11 girls: Hettie Mossop, runner-up Bethany Ardern. U11 boys: Declan Templeton, r-up Freddie Rhodes. U13 girls: Hannah Reid, r-up Ellie Odlin. U13 boys: Lucas George-Jones, r-up Kieron Byrne. U15 girls: Bea Spendlove, r-up Honor Knight. U15 boys: Jevon George-Jones, r-up Joshua Tarrant. U17 boys: James Larder. U20 women: May Ashton-Jones, r-up Natalie Stainton. Senior women: Emma Smith, r-up Tanya Gardener. Veteran women: Kerry Stainton, r-up Debbie Simpson. U20 men: Declan Godfrey. Senior men: Joe Wood, r-up Adam Dalto. Veteran men: Jason Stainton, r-up Kevin Wallis.

The 2015 Mayor’s Trophy (Wolds Dash series) – Junior female: Ellie Odlin, r-up Freya Plaskitt. Junior male: Joshua Tarrant, r-up Raphael Corn. Senior female: Ros Jackson, r-up Emma Smith. Senior male: Jason Oxby, r-up Jason Stainton.